Bobcats in Rare Air

It’s 7:00 PM and I’m laying on my worn hand-me-down couch eating pretzels in sweatpants and a wifebeater, watching the Sixers on TV and League Pass Broadband on my laptop, constantly checking up on my fantasy teams in the process. A little slice of NBA nerd heaven.

Last night’s slate of games didn’t disappoint. Eleven games total. The Sixers proved they are legit, the Bucks proved they have the Heat’s number (despite Bron’s 24 in the first quarter), and the Clippers proved they can have fun for three quarters but play seriously clutch basketball down the stretch.

But I don’t want to talk about any of those games. I don’t want to write about Blake’s lobs, Bron’s skills or Sixers power forward by way of Temple, LaVoy Allen. They all deserve blog ink and will get it. But not here. I want to talk about the Charlotte Bobcats.

The Braintrust? Spike Lee (L) Jordan (Center) Ahmad Rashad (R)

You see, last night the Michael Jordan-owned Bobcats (3-20) lost by 44 points to the Portland Trail Blazers — the worst loss in franchise history. The stats are what they are: 29th in offensive efficiency, 28th in defensive efficiency and 29th in point differential. Eight of their losses have been by 20 points or more. Beyond the fact that it was the worst loss in the franchise’s “storied” history, last night’s 44 point drubbing was special because it was revenge-driven for a former Bobcat:

“Personally, I wanted to keep going. I didn’t even want to come out of the game,” he said. “It’s one of those things where, like I said last year around this time, I didn’t feel like I was traded, I felt like I was stabbed in the back.” – Portland Trail Blazers SF Gerald Wallace via ESPN.com.

Paul Silas cited an injury-riddled roster for his team’s failings. From what I can gather, the Bobcats were missing Corey Maggette and D.J. Augustin. Starters? Barely. Quality players? No. Jordan drafted Kemba Walker to eventually replace Augustin. He drafted Bismack Biyombo…well I don’t know why he drafted Biyombo.

Not to go all lockout talk on you, but you do recall Jordan leading a group of hardline owners against a 50/50 BRI split, right? Maybe this is a bit of karma coming back at MJ.

As a small-market owner, look for Jordan to make some cost-cutting moves as the trade deadline nears. Unfortunately for Bobcats fans, Jordan’s last successful move was a push-off of Byron Russell in Game 6. No other team would ever want him, but His Airness should probably start by giving away DaSagana Diop.

(Note: Watch that clip and try to understand that Diop makes $6.9 million this season).

Leave a Reply

